Why we want our voice to be heard?


Thursday, December 16, 2010

Police attack PCP activists in Khagrachari District-wide road blockade announced

Police attack PCP activists in Khagrachari
District-wide road blockade announced

DOZENS of Hill Student’s Council (PCP) activists have been injured in
Khagrachari when police attacked them with gun shots, rubber bullets,
tear gas and clubs.

Police also raided Khabangpujya and arrested 40 persons including
women and children. However, 25 of them were released later from
Khagrachari police station.

The PCP called road blockade for 17 December in protest against the
brutal police attack on their peaceful conference at Swanirbhor.

PCP Khagrachari district unit leaders said the police blocked them in
front of the office of the District Council when they were trying to
take out a procession at the end of their conference at 2:15pm today.

The PCP leaders then requested the police to withdraw the blockade and
respect their right to take part in peaceful processions.

“Instead police tried to disperse us by resorting to baton charges,
using tear gas and firing rubber bullets.” Apruchi Marma, newly
elected president of PCP Khagrachari district unit, told chtnews.com.

“When they failed to disperse us, they fired live bullets at us and
army was deployed” he added.

In the face of joint attacks by army and police, the PCP activists
were then forced to retreat to the nearby Jumma areas -- Khabangpujya
and Narnaghia.

But the army and police pursued them and arrested whomever they got hold of.

The PCP, the Hill Women’s Federation, the Democratic Youth Forum and
UPDF Khagrachari district unit condemned the attack on peaceful PCP
gathering by army and police and urged the government to release those

They also demanded punishment of those involved in the attack.

The 11th conference of the PCP Khagrachari unit was held today at
11:30am today at Swanirbhor.

Chaired by Shipu Chakma, vice president of PCP Khagrachari district
unit, the conference was also addressed by UPDF leader Kalo Priyo
Chakma, DYF leader Mithun Chakma, HWF leader Madri Chakma, PCP leaders
Pronoy Chakma, Palash Chakma and Bipul Chakma.

Over one thousand PCP members and supporters participated in the conference.

A 19-member new committee for PCP Khagrachari district unit was also
elected. Apruchi Marma, Chandra Dev Chakma and Palash Chakma elected
were made president, general secretary and organising secretary

No comments:

Post a Comment