Why we want our voice to be heard?


Monday, April 25, 2011

Different orgs condemn restrictions on independent relief activities for Ramgarh victims

Different orgs condemn restrictions on independent relief activities for Ramgarh victims

April 25, 2011

LEADERS of a number of socio-cultural and religious organisations, elected public representatives and individuals have condemned a restriction imposed by Khagrachari district administration on distribution of relief materials to the Ramgarh attack victims by organizations other than the government and its different agencies.

In the statement they alleged that the Khagrachari district administration was refusing to allow relief materials to be taken to the affected areas independently of the administration.

“Our requests for help in distributing relief materials independently in the affected areas have been repeatedly turned down by district administration, the MP, the Minister and by the army brigade. As a consequence, the common people in the affected areas are being forced to live a terrible life in this season of nor’-wester. The relief materials provided so far by the government is not sufficient.” they said.

They called on the government to allow independent relief activities among the affected people, provide adequate compensation to and rehabilitation of the victims and institute an independent judicial inquiry committee and make its findings public.

“Otherwise, we will announce action programmes” it warned.

Issued to the media today, 25 April, the statement was singed, among others, by Ananta Bihari Khisha, a prominent Jumma intellectual and educationist; Prabhakar Chakma, president of Jumma Refugee Welfare Association; Suhsil Tripura, general secretary of Bangladesh Tripura Kalyan Sangshad; Sathoai Pru Marma, general secretary of Bangladesh Marma Unnayan Sangshad; Binod Bihari Chakma, convener of Relief Collection and Distribution Committee; Prof. Modhu Mongol Chakma, former teacher of Khagrachari govt. College; Arjo Mitra Chakma, teacher of Khagrachari Collegiate School; Rabi Shankar Talukder, president of Jumma Contractors Welfare Association; Purna Chandra Chakma, general secretary of Dharmapur Arjo Bana Vihar Management Committee; Nirapad Talukder, Khagrachari Upazila Vice Pesident; Banshari Marma, Khagrachari Upazila Lady Vice President; Mongrey Marma, member, Khagrachari Municipal Council; Sunil Devi Chakma, Golabari UP Chairman; Khetra Mohan Roaza, Vice President of Khagrachari District Headman Association; Ronik Tripura, president, Khagrachari District Karbari Association; Kiran Marma, former member of Khagrachari Municipality; Mongsui Thoai Chowdhury, convener of Bangladesh Marma Okya Parishad; Purushottom Chakma, president of Greater Khabangpujjya Social Development Committee; Milan Dewan Monang, Councilor, Khagrachari Municipality and general secretary of Adibashi Odhikar Sangrakkon Komiti; Chanchu Moni Chakma, president of Shrama Jan Malik-Shramik Kalyan Samiti; Monju Lal Dewan, secretary of sports and culture, Chomok Multi-purpose Welfare Associatoin, and ven. Agra Joti Thero, general secretary of Parbatyo Bhikkhu Sangha, Khagrachari Upazila unit.

Courtesy: chtnew.com

No comments:

Post a Comment